wears the trousers magazine

tegan & sara to publish three books

160908_teganandsaraNew album set for the autumn

Tegan & Sara are preparing to unleash a trio of books they’ve been steadily working on over the last year or so, with plans to self-publish them all in the run up to summer. Tegan first announced the books in November, writing in the duo’s Myspace blog that “Each book in the series will not only be amazing, artistic, and packed full of Tegan & Sara essays, photos and love, but it will also be reasonably priced! Ha.”

More recently, she added that they have re-teamed with The Con artwork designer Emy Storey for all three books, and are working with photographers Ryan Russell and Lindsey Byrnes. Among the photos will be shots from the sisters’ first ever attempt to work on writing new songs together, which took place in New Orleans at the beginning of December. It seems like those sessions were pretty productive: “Sara and I just sent 40 songs to Chris Walla [of Death Cab For Cutie; producer of The Con] and are making plans to record our new record this spring!,” Tegan revealed. “We can’t wait for you to hear what we’ve been up to!”

Continue reading


land of talk lose bassist, add london date
November 28, 2008, 4:50 am
Filed under: news, video, where's the gigs | Tags: , , , , ,

180708_landoftalk1Canadians will play just one UK show

Fresh off a huge US tour with Broken Social Scene, Land Of Talk are heading to Europe to tour with fellow Montreal band Think About Life and will make just one stop in the UK, at London’s Water Rats on December 10th. They’ll inevitably be playing lots of songs from their Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) produced new album Some Are Lakes – released last month through One Little Indian – and no doubt a few from their debut EP, Applause Cheer Boo Hiss.

Frontwoman Lizzie Powell is now the only surviving original member of the group, who, in just 2 years, have already had to replace drummer Bucky Wheaton and lead guitarist Chris McCarron, who recently quit the band to play with The Dears. He has been replaced with Joe Yarmush, concurrently a member of Montreal band Kill The Lights. “[Joe]’s absolutely rad,” the band wrote on their Myspace blog last month. “[Chris] will still moonlight with us now and then. The blood between us all is good. That was the overly complicated/cryptic way of saying that we’re all still good friends.”

Continue reading

trouser press: ani difranco, björk and more

– Ani’s new album makes 20
– China still mad at Björk
– Karen O unveils new side project
– Bebo soap opera to star Amy Winehouse and Girls Aloud?
– new album from Land Of Talk in October
– another tribute to The Cure on the way 

* * *

If your life is in need of a righteous shot in the arm, perk up, Ani’s back! And she’s gone all funky again! The wee workaholic releases her latest album – her 20th since 1990 – Red Letter Year on September 29th with the promise of much exuberance and cheer. After opening with a double helping of political rallying to get her into her stride, DiFranco inevitably has more personal matters to attend to with songs like ‘Present/Infant’ and ‘Landing Gear’ referring to her young daughter. ‘Way Tight’, a staple of recent live shows, also makes an appearance, as do horns, synths, piano and strings (possibly not all on the same song). Ani comes to Europe at the end of October.

Red Letter Year
01 Red Letter Year
02 Alla This
03 Present/Infant
04 Smiling Underneath
05 Way Tight
06 Emancipated Minor
07 Good Luck
08 The Atom
09 Round A Pole
10 Landing Gear
11 Star Matter
12 Red Letter Year (reprise) 

Continue reading

trouser press: emiliana torrini, inara george and more

– listen to the new Emiliana Torrini single
– Inara George teams up with Van Dyke Parks for new album
– Juliana Hatfield preps ninth solo album and autobiography
– Holly Throsby coming to the UK, new album
– HK119, Rose Kemp and Land Of Talk feature on free album
– new Ida EP details
– new Jennifer O’Connor album details
– All Girl Summer Fun Band return after four-year absence
– Lily Allen rumoured to be working with Lindsay Lohan

* * * 

Wears The Trousers favourite Emiliana Torrini releases her third international album, Me & Armini, on September 8th. Produced by long-time collaborator Dan Carey, the album is said to be “a hugely ambitious and aspirational pop record” (so presumably miles away from 2005’s hushed and intimate Fisherman’s Woman).

The album’s first single, the summery title track, will be released on August 18th, followed shortly after by ‘Jungle Drum’, a “surging, breathless” beast of a song, on September 29th. That’s all we know so far, but you can listen to ‘Me & Armini’ on Emiliana’s Myspace RIGHT NOW.

Continue reading