wears the trousers magazine

free music friday: tara jane o’neil
March 6, 2009, 10:05 am
Filed under: free music friday, mp3, review | Tags: , , , , , ,

fmf_tarajaneoneilTara Jane O’Neil

When Wears The Trousers hung out with Portland-based musician Tara Jane O’Neil late last year, she confided to us that originally she thought her upcoming solo album was a pop record, but that was before she played it to her friends and they laughed, shook their heads and said, “um, no”. It’s all relative though, and ‘Drowning’ could certainly be viewed as a more direct take on Tara’s singularly atmospheric music. Where her beautiful, narcotic voice may in the past have been somewhat overshadowed by her restless experimentation with sound, ‘Drowning’ pushes it right to the front without skimping on the background details. 

Also in our chat – which you can read in full in our next issue – Tara presaged the downfall of her former label Touch & Go so it’s no surprise she’s now signed to the legendary K Records, who will release the new album A Ways Away on May 4th. If ‘Drowning’ is any indication of where she’s headed with the album – which seems highly likely – we’ll be knocking down the doors of venues across Europe to witness it live when she tours in May. Guests on the album include Mirah, Jana Hunter, New Bloods’ Osa Atoe, Fuck’s Geoff Soule, violinist Jean Cook and longtime collaborator Dan Littleton of Ida. MP3 after the jump.

Continue reading


trouser press: ane brun, peaches and more

in today’s trouser press:

– new Ane Brun video, Alphaville cover and CD release for Sketches
– inside scoop on the new Peaches album
– Goldfrapp to reissue Seventh Tree with a host of extras
– Nouvelle Vague founder gets all-woman cast to reinterpret ’80s film themes
– Low announce new single and festive shows
– White Hinterland go retro French for new EP
– more details about the new Pretenders album
– Amiina and others cover ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ songs
– KT Tunstall and others on new charity compilation
– Lioness announce debut EP
– fifth album on the way from Priya Thomas
– Amy Winehouse and Madonna immortalised in LEGO 

* * *

Following huge demand from her fans, Ane Brun will release a CD version of her new demos album Sketches, released as a digital-only treat a couple of weeks ago. You’ll only be able to buy it from her website, mind you. Get a copy from October 1st onwards.

In other Ane Brun news, the Norwegian singer-songwriter has released a cover of Alphaville’s ‘Big In Japan’, recorded for the soundtrack of Swedish TV documentary ‘Stor I Japan’. She says it’s on iTunes. We can’t find it. But it is on her website, as is her latest video collaboration with Magnus Renfors, this time for the sad, stunning ‘Don’t Leave’, the third single to be taken from the brilliant Changing Of The Seasons. Watch it here:

Continue reading

trouser press: emiliana torrini, inara george and more

– listen to the new Emiliana Torrini single
– Inara George teams up with Van Dyke Parks for new album
– Juliana Hatfield preps ninth solo album and autobiography
– Holly Throsby coming to the UK, new album
– HK119, Rose Kemp and Land Of Talk feature on free album
– new Ida EP details
– new Jennifer O’Connor album details
– All Girl Summer Fun Band return after four-year absence
– Lily Allen rumoured to be working with Lindsay Lohan

* * * 

Wears The Trousers favourite Emiliana Torrini releases her third international album, Me & Armini, on September 8th. Produced by long-time collaborator Dan Carey, the album is said to be “a hugely ambitious and aspirational pop record” (so presumably miles away from 2005’s hushed and intimate Fisherman’s Woman).

The album’s first single, the summery title track, will be released on August 18th, followed shortly after by ‘Jungle Drum’, a “surging, breathless” beast of a song, on September 29th. That’s all we know so far, but you can listen to ‘Me & Armini’ on Emiliana’s Myspace RIGHT NOW.

Continue reading