wears the trousers magazine

the new neko case really blows
December 3, 2008, 2:10 am
Filed under: news, trouser press, video | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

020708_nekocase…only joking!

Remember back at the end of August when videos of Neko Case singing four new songs at the Bumbershoot festival in Seattle surfaced on YouTube and everybody cooed in unison? Well, expect that cooing to whip up into a howling squall of appreciation when her much-anticipated new album Middle Cyclone hits the shops on March 2nd through the Anti- label. The album – her fifth solo studio release – includes 13 new originals and two covers: Sparks’ ‘Never Turn Your Back On Mother Earth’ and the Bumbershoot-premiered ‘Don’t Forget Me’, originally by Harry Nilsson.

Recorded in Tucson, Brooklyn, Toronto and Vermont and co-produced alongside Darryl Neudorf, Middle Cyclone sees Neko working once more with Kelly Hogan, Paul Rigby, Tom V Ray, Visqueen, Calexico, The Sadies and The Band’s Garth Hudson, while guest appearances on recent Giant Sand and M. Ward output are reciprocated by the boys. Other guest stars include Los Lobos, The Lilys, Sarah Harmer and several New Pornographers. 

Continue reading


trouser press: tori amos, annie, neko case and more

– Tori Amos to release live DVD of rare performances
– Norwegian pop icon Annie unveils second album
– New Giant Sand album to star Neko Case and Isobel Campbell
– Emma Pollock guests on new Green Peppers album
– Au Revoir Simone pay tribute to Bowie
– Pram to release remix EP

* * * 

Two of Tori Amos’s earliest live performances are coming to DVD on September 22nd with the release of the latest in a longrunning series of tapings at the Montreux Jazz Festival. The prosaically named Live At Montreux collates the singer’s pre- and post-Little Earthquakes appearances at the Festival in 1991 and 1992, showing her “fascinating progression from one year to the next as she grows in confidence and skill as a live performer, buoyed by the critical and commercial success of Little Earthquakes.”

1991 show:
01 Silent All These Years
02 Precious Things
03 China
04 Crucify
05 Leather
06 Song For Eric
07 Upside Down
08 Happy Phantom
09 Winter
10 Thank You

1992 show:
11 Little Earthquakes
12 Crucify
13 Silent All These Years
14 Precious Things
15 Happy Phantom
16 Whole Lotta Love / Thank You
17 Me & A Gun
18 Winter
19 Smells Like Teen Spirit

Tori talks about the DVD and all her other new, post-Epic projects in a revealing interview with Spinner.com.

Continue reading