wears the trousers magazine


incoming: kaki king
February 9, 2010, 9:10 am
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , ,

Kaki King
Junior

[Cooking Vinyl; March 1]

If the artwork for Kaki King’s fifth album Junior looks to you a bit like the jacket of a spy novel, then mission accomplished. Espionage is just one of the themes that underline the album, particularly the song ‘The Betrayer’, a punchy rock number which takes its inspiration from Ben McIntyre’s 2007 book Agent Zig Zag. Essentially her first ‘band record’, Junior finds Kaki bravely ditching her characteristic ‘guitar tapping’ technique in favour of a more straightforward approach, relying more on embellishments by multi-instrumentalist Dan Brantigan and drummer Jordan Perlson to fill in the gaps. The result is Kaki King at her most rocking, from the punky stream-of-consciousness of ‘Falling Day’ to the dance-rock of ‘Spit It Back In My Mouth’, but there are moments of levity too. Closing ballad ‘Sunnyside’ offers a soft rumination on the end of a relationship, of which Kaki says, “I’m hoping there’s something universal in that song that someone’s gonna listen and think ‘Wow, I can relate to that,’ because I don’t want it to be my pity party.” Explaining the album title, she adds, “I felt like I was doing something for the first time, because I was trying totally different things… I felt like a little kid or a novice.”

Tracklist:
01 The Betrayer
02 Spit It Back In My Mouth
03 Everything Has An End, Even Sadness
04 Falling Day
05 The Hoopers Of Hudspeth
06 My Nerves That Committed Suicide
07 I’ve Enjoyed As Much As I Can Stand
08 Hallucinations From My Poisonous German Streets
09 Death Head
10 Sloan Shore
11 Sunnyside

Kaki King website
Label website

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

