wears the trousers magazine

incoming: here lies love

David Byrne & Fatboy Slim
Here Lies Love

[Nonesuch; February 22]

This hugely anticipated double album from the perhaps unlikely pairing of David Byrne and Norman Cook features 20 top female vocalists (and Steve Earle) retelling the incredible life story of Imelda Marcos, former First Lady Of The Philippines, from her early days as a beauty queen in Manila to her marriage to Ferdinand Marcos and his controversial presidency, and finally to their catastrophic fall from grace in the face of the People Power Revolution of 1986. Says David Byrne in the introduction, “The story I am interested in is about asking what drives a powerful person—what makes them tick? How do they make and then remake themselves? I thought to myself, wouldn’t it be great if—as this piece would be principally composed of clubby dance music—one could experience it in a club setting? Could one bring a ‘story’ and a kind of theatre to the disco? Was that possible? If so, wouldn’t that be amazing!” (Byrne himself sings on only two tracks; ‘American Troglodyte’ and the Shara Worden duet ‘Seven Years’.) The deluxe edition of Here Lies Love includes a 100-page companion book and DVD. Unmissable, really.

01 Here Lies Love [feat. Florence Welch]

Act I: Flashback — Early Days
02 Every Drop Of Rain [feat. Candie Payne and St. Vincent]
03 You’ll Be Taken Care Of [feat. Tori Amos]
04 The Rose Of Tacloban [feat. Martha Wainwright]
05 How Are You? [feat. Nellie McKay]
06 A Perfect Hand [feat. Steve Earle]
07 Eleven Days [feat. Cyndi Lauper]

Act II: The Climb To Power
08 Walk Like A Woman [feat. Charmaine Clamor]
09 Don’t You Agree? [feat. Róisín Murphy]
10 Ladies In Blue [feat. Theresa Andersson]
11 When She Passed By [feat. Allison Moorer]
12 A Pretty Face [feat. Camille]
13 The Whole Man[feat. Kate Pierson of The B-52s]
14 American Troglodyte
15 Dancing Together [feat. Sharon Jones]

Act III: The Turning Point
16 Men Will Do Anything [feat. Alice Russell]
17 Never So Big [feat. Sia]
18 Please Don’t [feat. Santigold]

Act IV: The Fall
19 Solano Avenue [feat. Nicole Atkins]
20 Seven Years [feat. Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond]
21 Order 1081 [feat. Natalie Merchant]
22 Why Don’t You Love Me? [feat. Tori Amos and Cyndi Lauper]

Album website
Label website


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: