wears the trousers magazine


voice on the verge #42: eliza doolittle
December 15, 2009, 10:14 pm
Filed under: feature, voice on the verge | Tags: , ,

voice on the verge #42: eliza doolittle

Having recently given her self-titled debut EP a glowing assessment, it’s safe to say that Eliza Doolittle will be on our ones-to-watch list for 2010. This fresh-faced, London-bred starlet has been writing songs since she was a nipper, raised in a musical household and honing her skills steadily over the years. Now armed with a major label deal through Parlophone and thumbs up all round, she looks set to bring her cheerfully soulful rays of pop to the masses. Her first single ‘Skinny Genes’ is out on February 22, with an as yet untitled album following closely behind in March. And though she’s undoubtedly busy enjoy the seasonal festivities, a charmingly chipper Ms Doolittle took some time out to have a natter with us about guilt-free pop pleasures, why she’d never get a tattoo and, er, death by French fries.

* * *

If you were the answer to a crossword puzzle, what would be your clue?

Curly haired singer/writer who loves her blazers.

What did you want to be until you decided to become a musician…if you ever did ‘decide’ that is!

I have never ever thought about being anything other than a musician because I am no good at anything else, I would be a disaster chef or make-up artist or, well, anything!

What did you listen to when you were growing up?

I actually listened to a lot of UK garage and R&B music when I was younger. I loved Artful Dodger and Craig David, as well as Destiny’s Child and Aaliyah…still do!

Which female musicians have most inspired you?

I love Carole King, Minnie Riperton, Aretha Franklin, Joni Mitchell.

Which artist would you most like to work with – your dream collaboration?

Stevie Wonder. No doubt.

What was the first band you saw in concert?

Spice Girls, baby!

What’s the biggest guilty pleasure in your record collection?

Probably the above! No guilt though!

What’s your favourite song to cover and why?

I love covering songs, I change it up all the time. Come and see my live show to hear me do a cover.

Do you have an instrument you’d still like to learn? What’s stopping you?

I would love to learn the guitar but my hands are unusually small and I can’t reach some of the notes.

What’s been the best moment of your career so far?

I always enjoy everything I’m doing but there are definitely some defining moments that mark my journey so far, like being played on the radio and performing for Rob da Bank’s live sessions.

What’s your funniest studio memory?

Well, it’s not especially funny but it is odd. Me and Jimmy Napes had written my song ‘So High’ and had it on loop. We got so sucked in and I still don’t know now if we sat there for 10 minutes or 2 hours listening to it over and over again. It made us literally high!

If you could star in any TV show, past or current, which would it be and what kind of character would you play?

I’d love to be in ‘Sex & The City’. I would play any character to be in it. I love Carrie Bradshaw!

What kind of person would have sex to your music?

Grannies. Obvi.

What is your most loved item of clothing and why is it so treasured?

I have two amazing dresses that are my prized possessions, both knitwear: Louise Goldin and Mark Fast.

Do you have a tattoo?

I am not a fan of tattoos because I love the human body as it is.

What would you tell your 18 year old self if you could go back in time?

Don’t take anything too seriously. I still tell myself that.

What was the last good book you read and how did it affect you?

Birdsong (by Sebastian Faulks) was probably the last good book I read. I got completely sucked in and it made me really realise how much the soldiers of both World Wars had to go through and really appreciate how lucky I am.

What’s the biggest problem facing the world today and do you have any ideas on how it could be addressed?

Powerful people refusing to acknowledge global warming is a very scary thing for the world. How do you tell them that they are idiots? I hope they get it before it’s too late.

What’s your biggest fear?

The health of my friends and family being in jeopardy.

How are you most likely to die and what would you want written on your headstone?

I haven’t thought about this! I’d like to die of eating too many French fries, and my headstone would say ‘Here fries Eliza Doolittle’.

* * *
Charlotte Richardson Andrews

For all things Eliza, visit www.elizadoolittle.com

EP teaser:

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

