wears the trousers magazine

josephine foster bases new album on the poems of emily dickinson
October 13, 2009, 7:21 am
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , , ,

130909_josephinefosterArtist promises “intimate and intuitive” musical settings

Nineteenth century American poet Emily Dickinson has inspired her fair share of songs based on her verse – Natalie Merchant’s ‘Because I Could Not Stop For Death’, Blossom Dearie’s ‘Will There Really Be A Morning’, Carla Bruni’s ‘I Felt My Life With Both My Hands’ – but never before have her words been married to music by anyone as maverick as the uncategorisable Josephine Foster. That’s all about to change with the release of Graphic As A Star, Josephine’s new 26-track album that brings together her unique vocals and inventive arrangements in an homage to Emily’s work. “Back in music school I heard a few musical settings of Dickinson made by classical composers,” says Josephine. “But it’s my hope to unite some of her poems into more intimate and intuitive musical settings, being so lyrical and transparent as they are.”

Written in a remote village in the Spanish mountains, “a deadly quiet place with occasional interruptions of goats’ bells, donkey brays and the church bell announcing the passing of another old neighbour every day or so,” Graphic As A Star is the product of an isolated winter spent with a book of Dickinson’s writings. “Her poems proved such good company that in a few short weeks appeared this ‘song cycle’,” Josephine explains. “Whether for the irony of distance and homesickness being 3 years away, or through inevitable kinship with this long dead lady these songs seem to veer more towards America than ever before.”

Graphic As A Star is released through Fire Records on November 9th. As previously reported, Josephine plays a one-off UK show at London’s Cafe OTO on November 14th.


Graphic As A Star
01 Trust In The Unexpected
02 How Happy Is The Little Stone
03 She Sweeps With Many-Colored Brooms
04 Ah Teneriffe!
05 Who Is The East?
06 They Called Me To The Window
07 This Is The Land The Sunset Washes
08 Like Mighty Foot Lights
09 Exultation Is The Going
10 In Falling Timbers Buried
11 With Thee In The Desert
12 I See Thee Better In The Dark
13 Your Thoughts Don’t Have Words Every Day
14 My Life Had Stood A Loaded Gun
15 Eden Is That Old-Fashioned House
16 Beauty Crowds Me Till I Die
17 I Could Bring You Jewels
18 Wild Night – Wild Nights!
19 Only A Shrine, But Mine
20 Tho’ My Destiny Be Fustian
21 What Shall I Do – It Whimpers So
22 Heart! We Will Forget Him
23 Strong Draughts Of Their Refreshing Minds
24 Tell As A Marksman
25 The Spider Holds A Silver Ball
26 Whoever Disenchants

Alan Pedder


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

great news! Can’t wait.
I Could Bring You Jewels streamable here

Comment by Beppi-Size

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: