wears the trousers magazine

sheryl crow to release deluxe edition of her debut
October 7, 2009, 8:30 am
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , , ,

070708_sherylcrowIncludes four previously unreleased songs and new tour documentary

Hard to believe it’s been 16 years since Sheryl Crow’s bestselling debut album Tuesday Night Music Club transformed her from Michael Jackson’s backing singer into a global superstar, winning three Grammy Awards in the process, but the hits don’t lie. The album’s six singles – ‘Leaving Las Vegas’, ‘All I Wanna Do’, ‘Strong Enough’, ‘Can’t Cry Anymore’, ‘Run, Baby, Run’ and ‘What I Can Do For You’ – broke through the mass of grunge rockers and dance acts of the early ’90s to revitalise the singer-songwriter genre purely on the strength of being good songs. The album certainly wasn’t expected to go seven times platinum in the US, but it did, and for that Sheryl has every right to celebrate her achievements with a new Deluxe Edition due out November 16th. As well as the original album (apparently not remastered), the package includes a 10-track bonus disc and a DVD.

Fans will be thrilled to know that the bonus audio content includes four previously unreleased songs originally intended for the follow-up album: ‘Coffee Shop’, ‘Killer Life’, ‘You Want More’ and the decidedly hippy-sounding ‘Essential Trip Of Hereness’. Recorded in 1995 but only now mixed by original producer Bill Bottrell, they join a remixed version of ‘I Shall Believe’ plus various B-sides and soundtrack contributions from Sheryl’s early career (‘Reach Around Jerk’, ‘Volvo Cowgirl 99’, ‘All By Myself’, ‘D’yer Maker’ and ‘On The Outside’) to complete the tracklist.

Meanwhile, the DVD contains another treasure trove of previously unseen material for fans, including a newly produced documentary put together using footage from the original tour and a rare alternative version of the video for ‘All I Wanna Do’, directed by Roman Coppola. The rest of the tracklist is rounded out by the original videos for all six singles. Liner notes are provided by Sheryl’s manager, Scooter Weintraub.


Tuesday Night Music Club – Deluxe Edition
01 Run, Baby, Run
02 Leaving Las Vegas
03 Strong Enough
04 Can’t Cry Anymore
05 Solidify
06 The Na-Na Song
07 No One Said It Would Be Easy
08 What I Can Do For You
09 All I Wanna Do
10 We Do What We Can
11 I Shall Believe

01 Coffee Shop
02 Killer Life
03 Essential Trip Of Hereness
04 Reach Around Jerk
05 Volvo Cowgirl 99
06 You Want More
07 All By Myself [Eric Carmen cover]
08 On The Outside
09 D’yer Mak’er [Led Zeppelin cover]
10 I Shall Believe [2009 remix]

01 ‘Valuable Stuff’ documentary
02 Leaving Las Vegas
03 All I Wanna Do
04 Strong Enough
05 Can’t Cry Anymore
06 Run, Baby, Run
07 What I Can Do For You
08 All I Wanna Do [alternative version]

Alan Pedder


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: