wears the trousers magazine

new dolly parton boxset her most comprehensive yet
August 19, 2009, 12:26 pm
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , , , , ,

190809_dollyparton99 songs, including 7 previously unreleased exclusives

At 50+ years in span, Dolly Parton’s career has been littered with various compilations and retrospectives, but none can match RCA Nashville/Legacy’s upcoming boxset Dolly for sheer breadth and attention to detail. A whopping 99 tracks are spread across the collection’s four discs, from early recordings she cut at the age of 11 to the mid-’90s when Dolly left the Sony family, with no less than seven previously unreleased exclusives. The oldest of these is a demo track called ‘Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)’, co-written by Dolly and her uncle Bill Owens most likely at some point in the late ’50s, and the most recent are ‘Eugene Oregon’ and ‘What Will Baby Be’, two original tracks recorded in December 1972 during the Nashville sessions for her acclaimed album My Tennessee Mountain Home. One of the exclusives is a cover of little known Gerry Goffin/Carole King track, ‘I’ve Known You All My Life’, originally recorded by The Four Preps. The collection is also notable for its introduction penned by Nashville singer-songwriter (and favourite of the late John Peel) Laura Cantrell, plus a 5000-word biographical essay penned by writer Holly George-Warren, who previously wrote the liner notes for 2005’s June Carter Cash retrospective, Keep On The Sunny Side: Her Life In Music

Fans who pre-order the collection direct from Dollyon-line.com prior to its October 27th street date will receive an exclusive bonus download album. Keep an eye on the website for more details on that.



Dolly – CD1
01 Puppy Love
02 Girl Left Alone
03 Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can) *
04 It’s Sure Gonna Hurt [with Merry Melody Singers]
05 The Love You Gave [with Merry Melody Singers]
06 Nobody But You [with Merry Melody Singers] *
07 Busy Signak
08 Don’t Drop Out
09 I’ve Known You All My Life *
10 Put It Off Until Tomorrow
11 Dumb Blonde
12 Something Fishy
13 I Couldn’t Wait Forever
14 I’m Not Worth The Tears
15 Last Thing On My My Mind [with Porter Wagoner]
16 False Eyelashes
17 The Bridge
18 Just Because I’m A Woman
19 Holdin’ On To Nothin’ [with Porter Wagoner]
20 We’ll Get Ahead Someday [with Porter Wagoner]
21 Jeannie’s Afraid Of The Dark [with Porter Wagoner]
22 In The Good Old Days (When Times Were Bad)
23 Daddy
24 Evening Shade
25 Gypsy, Joe & Me
26 My Blue Ridge Mountain Boy

Dolly – CD2
01 Just The Way I Am
02 Down From Dover
03 Everything Is Beautiful (In Its Own Way) *
04 Daddy Come & Get Me
05 Just Someone That I Used To Know [with Porter Wagoner]
06 Tomorrow Is Forever [with Porter Wagoner]
07 Daddy Was An Old Time Preacher Man [with Porter Wagoner]
08 Comin’ For To Carry Me Home ^
09 The Golden Streets Of Glory
10 Mule Skinner Blues (Blue Yodel No. 8)
11 Joshua
12 Daddy’s Moonshine Still
13 The Last One To Touch Me
14 Better Move It On Home [with Porter Wagoner] 
15 Coat Of Many Colors
16 Traveling Man
17 My Blue Tears
18 Here I Am
19 God’s Coloring Book *
20 Will He Be Waiting 
21 Touch Your Woman
22 Together Always [with Porter Wagoner]
23 Lost Forever In Your Kiss [with Porter Wagoner]
24 My Tennessee Mountain Home
25 Eugene Oregon *
26 What Will Baby Be * 

Dolly – CD3
01 Jolene
02 Early Morning Breeze – Jolene RCA 12/27/73
03 I Will Always Love You
04 Please Don’t Stop Loving Me [with Porter Wagoner]
05 Love Is Like A Butterfly
06 Sacred Memories
07 The Bargain Store
08 On My Mind Again
09 Kentucky Gambler
10 The Seeker
11 We Used To
12 All I Can Do
13 Light Of A Clear Blue Morning
14 You Are
15 Applejack
16 It’s All Wrong, But It’s All Right
17 Here You Come Again
18 Two Doors Down
19 Me & Little Andy
20 Heartbreaker 
21 I Really Got The Feeling
22 Baby I’m Burnin’
23 You’re The Only One
24 Sweet Summer Lovin’
25 Starting Over Again 

Dolly – CD4
01 Old Flames Can’t Hold A Candle To You
02 9 To 5
03 But You Know I Love You
04 Single Women
05 Heartbreak Express
06 Do I Ever Cross Your Mind
07 Potential New Boyfriend
08 Islands In The Stream [with Kenny Rogers]
09 Save The Last Dance For Me
10 Tennessee Homesick
11 God Won’t Get You
12 What A Heartache
13 Don’t Call It Love
14 Think About Love
15 Why’d You Come In Here Lookin’ Like That
16 Yellow Roses
17 Time For Me To Fly
18 He’s Alive
19 Rockin’ Years [with Ricky Van Shelton]
20 Eagle When She Flies
21 Silver & Gold
22 Romeo

* previously unreleased
^ first time available on an album 

Alan Pedder


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: