wears the trousers magazine

rosanne cash explores country classics on new album
July 10, 2009, 8:31 am
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , , , , ,

100707_rosannecashGuests include Bruce Springsteen and Rufus Wainwright

Bouncing back from her 2007 brain surgery, Rosanne Cash is set to release her 12th studio album, The List, on October 6th through Manhattan Records. The long-awaited follow-up to 2006’s grief-wracked Black Cadillac, the album finds Rosanne going right back to her roots with a selection of covers taken from a list given to her by her father Johnny back in 1973 of the 100 essential songs he thought she ought to know. “If my father had been a martial arts master, he might have passed a martial arts secret on to me, his oldest child,” says Rosanne. “If he had been a surgeon, he might have taken me into his operating room and pointed out the arteries and organs. If he were a robber baron, he might have surveyed his empire and said, ‘Honey, some day this will all be yours!’ But he was a musician and a songwriter, and he gave me the List.”

Part homage to her father, part celebration of the country tradition, Rosanne has taken great care to put her own stamp on each of the songs while respecting their heritage. “I looked to that list as a standard of excellence, and to remind myself of the tradition from which I come,” she says. “This album enables me to validate the connection to my heritage rather than run away from it, and to tie all the threads together: past and future, legacy and youth, tradition and timelessness.”

Among the dozen tracks are covers of Bob Dylan’s ‘Girl From The North Country’, Hank Snow’s ‘I’m Movin’ On’, Jimmie Rodgers’ ‘Miss The Mississippi & You’ and Elvis Presley’s ‘Heartbreak Hotel’, on which she duets with no less than The Boss Bruce Springsteen himself. Other guests on the album include Rufus Wainwright, Elvis Costello and Jeff Tweedy of Wilco. The List is Rosanne’s first collection of covers in a recording career spanning more than 30 years. Hear a preview of ‘I’m Movin’ On’ here.


[artwork not currently available]

The List
01 Miss The Mississippi & You
02 Motherless Children
03 Sea of Heartbreak [feat. Bruce Springsteen]
04 Take These Chains From My Heart
05 I’m Movin’ On
06 She’s Got You
07 Heartaches By The Number [feat. Elvis Costello]
08 500 Miles
09 Long Black Veil [feat. Jeff Tweedy]
10 Silver Wings [feat. Rufus Wainwright]
11 Girl From The North Country
12 Bury Me Under The Weeping Willow

 Alan Pedder


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: