wears the trousers magazine

nouvelle vague return with new album

080609_nouvellevagueFrench chanteuses get all-star duet partners for third outing

After branching out into film soundtracks with last year’s Hollywood, Mon Amour, the brains behind Nouvelle Vague have finally returned to their regular habit of making seductive covers of punk and New Wave classics, only this time there’s a couple of twists. First and foremost, the band have abandoned their reggae and bossa nova stylings in favour of a bluegrass and country music influence that adds freshness to their tried and tested formula. Second, with the proceeds of over half a million copies of the first two Nouvelle Vague albums in the bank, producers / arrangers Marc Collin and Olivier Libaux have amassed enough cash and influence to persuade many of the original songwriters and performers to join their revolving cast of chanteuses on covers of their their own songs for third album NV3

Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore kicks things off with ‘Master & Servant’, a duet with Nouvelle Vague’s “leading lady” Melanie Pain, who also teams up with Echo & The Bunnymen’s Ian McCulloch on his ‘All My Colours’. Later, Terry Hall of The Specials and Funboy Three crops up to sing with Marian Celeste on ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’, a track he originally penned for The Go-Go’s, while Barry Adamson joins Nadeah Miranda – a relatively new addition to the NV team – on Magazine’s ‘Parade’. An even newer recruit is Eloisia, a young Brazilian girl who can barely speak English; she apparently solos her way through Gary Numan’s ‘Metal’ with an innocent charm. “Even ‘God Save The Queen’, once full of menace and bile, is fashioned into a romantic flutter,” says the press release – which sounds like it could be so, so wrong. NV3 is out on June 29th in regular and special edition formats, the latter with three bonus tracks.

The band have just one UK live date lined up for this summer, and that’s an appearance at Guilfest in Guildford on July 10th.



01 Master & Servant [Depeche Mode cover]
02 Blister In The Sun [Violent Femmes cover]
03 Road To Nowhere [Talking Heads cover]
04 All My Colours [Echo & The Bunnymen cover]
05 The American [Simple Minds cover]
06 Heaven [Psychedelic Furs cover]
07 Parade [Magazine cover]
08 Metal [Gary Numan cover]
09 Ça Plane Pour Moi [Plastic Bertrand cover]
10 Our Lips Are Sealed [The Go-Go’s cover]
11 God Save The Queen [Sex Pistols cover]
12 Say Hello Wave Goodbye [Soft Cell cover]
13 So Lonely [The Police cover] 
14 Not Knowing [Minimal Compact cover] * 
15 Get A Grip [The Stranglers cover] *
16 Such A Shame [Talk Talk cover] *

* bonus tracks 

Alan Pedder


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: