wears the trousers magazine

shawn colvin strips back on new live album
May 15, 2009, 10:00 am
Filed under: news, trouser press | Tags: , , , ,

wie_shawncolvinEven the title is unfussy

We first reported about Shawn Colvin’s upcoming live album back in January when it was a sketchy little nameless thing with barely a factoid to boast of. Now it has a release date (June 22nd), a cover, a tracklist, and goes by the rather prosaic name of Live.

The 15 tracks that make up the album were culled from a trio of sold-out solo acoustic shows at the relocated Yoshi’s in San Francisco last summer. Co-produced by Shawn and her longtime collaborator John Leventhal, the album spans her 20-year solo career from 1989’s Steady On to 2006’s These Four Walls. As well as tracks from her five proper studio albums, Shawn revisits Robbie Robertson’s ‘Twilight’ and Talking Heads’ ‘This Must Be The Place’ from her 1994 collection Cover Girl, with a third cover represented by her brooding version of Gnarls Barkley’s ‘Crazy’ (previously a digital single).

As far as we know, Shawn continues to work on the studio follow-up to These Four Walls, as well as her her memoirs, due out next year through Collins Publishers.



01 Polaroids
02 A Matter Of Minutes
03 Shotgun Down The Avalanche
04 Twilight [Robbie Robertson cover]
05 Trouble
06 Tennessee
07 Nothing Like You
08 Sunny Came Home
09 Fill Me Up
10 Wichita Skyline
11 I’m Gone
12 Ricochet In Time
13 Diamond In The Rough
14 Crazy [Gnarls Barkley cover]
15 This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody) [Talking Heads cover]

Alan Pedder


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: